1 + 1/2 = 29

Are you serious?

I am a true Southerner. I have lived in the south my whole life. I was born and raised in the beautiful state of Virginia and have lived in North Carolina, Tennessee, Louisiana and for the past twenty plus years the great state of Georgia.  I love the south and everything Southern.   After the last few days I DO have one complaint about the south or the Atlanta area in particular.  We are WOEFULLY unprepared when it snows.  I mean ONLY in Atlanta can ½ inch of snow result in a 29 car pile-up!  I kid you not!  I mean, I KNOW that people here can’t be blamed for not being able to drive on snowy icy roads because they are never exposed to them, BUT…. You CAN NOT drive the same on snowy icy roads as you can on clean dry roads.  What am I saying??? People here can’t even drive on clean dry roads! 

My brother lives outside Washington, DC.  One of the WORST traffic areas in the country and he refuses to drive here. The last time he came down he said driving in Atlanta was like a traffic jam moving at 90 miles an hour. He’s not too far off.  If you are in the far left lane and you’re not going at least 80 your a$$ WILL get run over.  It will be interesting to see how much revenue is raised in the next few weeks with the brand new “super speeder” law that just went into effect on January 1. 

But back to the snow!  I have seen more cars in ditches in the last 5 days than in the last year.  I mean I do understand that even today, 5 days after it snowed ½ inch, there are STILL areas where the roads are completely iced over.  SLOW DOWN PEOPLE!  You cannot drive 80 mph on ice!  You CAN’T slam on the brakes on ICE.  Granted, we do NOT have equipment to deal with these kinds of conditions but you CAN learn to slow down and not tailgate, right? Obviously not. 

My mom, bless her heart, asked me if the snow plows had come through.  Yeah, right… their idea of snow equipment is two guys on the back of a pickup truck with shovels and salt shakers.  Yeah, that’s really gonna help.  When I jokingly told her this she asked me why they didn’t just go BUY some snow plows.  Well, I don’t think it’s economically feasible to purchase equipment that costs hundreds of thousands of dollars that will be used MAYBE once every 5 years.

Despite the total ignorance of Atlanta’s drivers, I still LOVE this area.  Despite the road rage I feel every time I have to drive into Atlanta, still LOVE this area.  Despite the “rush hours” that last half the morning and half the evening, I STILL love this area.  Did I mention that I LOVE THIS AREA?  I mean, all’s well that ends well, right?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1 + 1/2 = 29

  1. Jane says:

    I’m right there with you! (And a neighbor, probably, too!) Welcome to Blog World! It’s good to see you here!

  2. NikNik says:

    I still love it too and miss it (but mostly YOU) everyday! I was actually quite impressed with Nashville and was able to get to and from work during 3 days of snow with no problem! I’m like a proud mama hen seeing you start your own blog! Love you!

Leave a Reply

