Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

butterfly on football

This butterfly landed on the football and stayed there for a long time while we took pictures at a charity golf tournament.

Canon 1598

I thought the way the full moon peaked through the fog and the trees looked very ethereal. Almost haunting.

Canon 1965

We found this Marilyn statue in a little plaza between some shops while we were in Savannah.

Chamber gold tournament

This was our first charity golf tournament we got to take part of after we opened our restaurant.

cheesy chorizo

Our little Chorizo acting cheesy. He sneezed and got his lip stuck like that.

dwight

Dwight getting to feel like a little boy in the “Edif Ann” chair at The Secret Bed and Breakfast on our first visit in September.

IMG_0008

I took this one from the sidewalk outside our restaurant I think in August.

IMG_0031

This is our mission statement chalkboard. I tried to turn it so you could read it but it didn’t work. Oh, well. You can go to http://vimeo.com/52072531 and view the whole show about our restaurant!

IMG_0191

This is the bar that belonged to my brother Monte. His widow, Ana, called me in September and told me if I had a way to come and get it it was mine. I rented a truck in late September and made the trek to VA to retrieve it. This was taken after we restained it and spiffed it up for the tv show.

IMG_0397

Dwight’s new toy that our daughter brought down from Nashville for us. He really did need a truck for the restaurant and we love it!

IMG_1114

In December Erinn decided she wanted to give back so she decided to do Toys for Tots. As you can see it was a success! She got all these in just two weeks from our amazing guests!

IMG_3638

This was at a friend’s birthday party at a local Mexican restaurant in March. Much needed down time!

IMG_3709

Dwight was SO excited when we got our sign! He bothered the poor guy to death but he had to be part of putting his name in lights! This was in April I believe…. or late March.

IMG_3928

This just tells how we feel about how we got started. Nothing would have been possible without the help of our wonderful friends (and family).

IMG_3941

This was from our pre-opening party the week before we opened. We fed about 200 people in just a couple hours time and we were EXHAUSTED!

IMG_3960

We were toasting a successful pre-opening party!

IMG_4159-001

Our ribbon cutting on May 4 (also Sara’s birthday)!

IMG_4366

Dwight doing what he does best. That’s our open faced roast beef sandwich on the left and Double D cheeseburger on the right (full pound of meat and a pound of fries).

IMG_4491

This is the Acorn Hill Spa and Bed and Breakfast that we stayed at in Forest, VA when we visited in July (after that El Derecho storm).

IMG_4673

We took a night off in August to go see the American Idols live tour. It was awesome!

IMG_4855

This is another amazing sunset taken from the sidewalk of our restaurant in October I think.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    Hi Peggy!! Miss you and I love your year in photos. So happy for you guys. :-)

  2. Jimmy says:

    Hey Peg, I love the tour you gave us and am proud for your and Dwights success, Having your name in lights, working with a great partner and someone you love, while doing what you love best, you two are truly blessed :)

  3. Carol says:

    It’s good to visit with you again! Great photos of your year – I’m pleased you found time in your busy life.

  4. Ron says:

    Great 2012 photo review, Peg!!!!

    Love the one of you and Dwight smooching!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU BOTH!

    Cheers!

    X

  5. Good pics – some are making me hungry. Miss you posting, but understand blogging takes a back seat when running a restaurant. Hope you had a Happy New Year!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Dave! I miss blogging… A LOT. I wish I had more time and I keep thinking “today I’ll have time” and then I don’t. Maybe this year I can do better!

  6. gretchen says:

    Yep, I am now starving! Congratulations on the success of the restaurant- wish I could visit you! I can’t imagine how much work it must be, but SO gratifying!

  7. Ron says:

    Hi Peg!

    Just wanted to pop by to wish you and D a HAPPY EASTER!!!!!!

    X

Leave a Reply

