My Kid Did WHAT?

It’s Thursday so it must be time for Mama Kat’s Almost World Famous Writer’s Workshop.  This week I chose #2.) I thought my child was going to _______, but instead he/she _______.

I have to go way back for this one.  This was a good fifteen years ago.  Our firstborn was probably around 11 or 12 which means that #2 was around 10 or maybe even 11.  #3 would have been around 4 or 5.

We used to live in a split foyer house so the main level was on the second floor. We had a HUGE picture window above the front door.  We had found out due to a previous embarrassing incident that you could see straight onto our house if any lights were on at night so I had a habit of the kids and I watching television t night with the lights off.  We figured we’d be less likely to give the neighbors any free peep shows if the only light was from the television.

The kids liked to lay on the floor in front of the coffee table (well, between the coffee table and the television) propped up on their pillows.  This particular night I was sitting on the sofa with my feet propped on the coffee table with #3 sitting with me and suddenly #2 jumped up (more like lurched) and fairly propelled herself across the coffee table towards me.  It kind of surprised me and after about 2  seconds I realized that I thought she was going to throw up.  Ok…confession of major bad parenting incident here… I (utterly out of instinct) kind of shoved her to the side so that she wouldn’t throw up ON me and told her to run to the bathroom.

She not only didn’t go towards the bathroom but kept trying to climb over the coffee table.  I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why she wouldn’t run to the bathroom, especially since this is the child that once calmly walked from the front of a Walmart all the way to the back of the store in the midst of throwing up and made it all the way to the bathroom in the back before she let it spew.  She has great body control, which made her actions even more confusing.

I am somewhat embarrassed to admit that she must have tried to climb over that table 3 or 4 times before I realized that the bug eyed look on her face was NOT from holding back her vomit but because her airway was constricted and she was CHOKING!  By this time she was surely starting to turn a little blue but since the light was off I couldn’t tell.  I quickly dislodged the offending object which turned out to be her ring she had put in her mouth… to this day I haven’t figured out why she was sucking on her ring!

So to fill in the blanks from that sentence:   I thought my child was going to THROW UP, but instead she WAS CHOKING.

Want to read more about what other people’s kids did?  Head on over to Mama Kat’s and find out!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Kid Did WHAT?

  1. suzicate says:

    Oh poor baby! (her, not you!)
    I didn’t think Youngest would ever stop chewing on the neckline of his t-shirts or stop chewing on other things (like we had missing remote control buttons!).

  2. spriteskeeper says:

    That would have wigged me out. I’m guessing she hasn’t done it since.

  3. Ron says:

    OMG, Peg, how funny ( not her choking, but the way you described this).

    “I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why she wouldn’t run to the bathroom, especially since this is the child that once calmly walked from the front of a Walmart all the way to the back of the store in the midst of throwing up and made it all the way to the bathroom in the back before she let it spew. She has great body control…”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Love your new blog design! VERY nice!

    Happy Thursday, dear friend…..X

  4. Liked the way you told this sotry. The situation was awful (for her and you) but the telling of it was funny. If I had been thinking she was about to throw up, I would’ve been puching away too.

    hi from mk’s :)

Leave a Reply

