Call Me The Wanderer

It's not you - It's me

I am a procrastinator. I put things off sometimes until they almost seem overwhelming and then I panic and try to get them done, my heart racing. Sometimes I wonder if I don’t do this on purpose? Maybe I like that panic driven adrenaline rush? Maybe I’m just stupid?

 At the moment I am also experiencing a moment of wanderlust. I think that might be due to the fact that I had myself all psyched up for our little 3 day weekend to Florida that fell through. I had really looked forward to it and then was disappointed when it didn’t happen. Just as well.

I plan (to NOT plan – more on that in a minute) to go to North Carolina next week to see a very dear friend who is ill. I usually try to be kind of orderly in planning things ahead and having a plan worked out. BUT… every once in a while I get this wild hair. And I don’t want to “subject” anyone else to my moments of whimsy and/or frenzy therefore I am taking this trip by myself. I just want to hit the open road and go where the mood takes me. Hence, my NOT plan. I do PLAN to see my friend in Wilmington and I PLAN to spend a day or so with another friend in Myrtle Beach but I have no definite plans of what I am going to do or when. I just want to kind of roam for the week.

Going with the flow

I used to live in North Carolina YEARS and YEARS ago. I have lived in several different cities in North Carolina and it’s been many years since I have been there other than just passing through. It would be nice to visit these places to see how much they have changed over the years. I also have several friends that still live there scattered across the state. All of the places are a couple of hours apart. Since I am currently underemployed at the moment and I don’t know when these same circumstances may duplicate themselves, I thought it was the perfect time to kill a few birds with one stone.

Since I don’t plan to bring anyone with me and I won’t be at the mercy of someone else’s boredom or need for structure the only person I need to please with my agenda (or lack thereof) is myself. I can feel free to take my time and be on my own schedule and go when and where the mood takes me. Let the undercurrent in my soul take me where it wants to go. If I want to be lazy and take my time getting up and getting ready to go to wherever my next stop is going to be, then so be it. If I want to stay with friends, and it doesn’t inconvenience them, I will. If things work out that at the end of the night I am NOT near a friends or it works out that it’s NOT convenient, then I’ll find a nice little inexpensive hotel and stay the night.

Hey, if I get a wild enough hair, I might even make the trek to Biltmore that I have wanted to go to for YEARS by myself. At least then I wouldn’t have to worry about anyone else hurrying me up or rolling their eyes or the heavy sighs. I can do it on my own timeframe. Or maybe not… maybe I’ll find myself walking the beach somewhere or finding another friend to spend some time with. Or even somewhere I’ve never been?

Wander the beach?

I’m just gonna let the wind blow my little wander lusting soul wherever it wants. Let my inner voice guide me and let myself be….. me!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Call Me The Wanderer

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    Without a doubt we are soul sisters. We should meet on the beaches in Florida. The ocean is my siren song. Traveling is the drumbeat of my heart. I always, always have the urge to go. Although I must say I like flying much better than driving, BUT I definitely like flying pre-9/11 much better. :-)

    My bag is packed. Let’s go. I can hear the beach calling….calling…..calling…

    • pegbur7 says:

      Are you a water sign? I’m a Pisces so I think that is part of my siren song. I love being near the water whether it’s a babbling brook or a roaring ocean. Being near the ocean and hearing the waves crash ashore can put me to sleep in a New York minute! Maybe that should be a Florida minute? lol

      I prefer flying too, but, since I am going to be going to so many places and they are all only a couple hours apart, driving seemed the more logical choice this time. I def would have flown to Texas if I had known I was going more than a week in advance!

      Florida beaches sounds like a good mid way point to meet to me! Did you know my sister lives VERY close to the beach? :-)

  2. suzicate says:

    Enjoy…let freedom fly!!!!!

  3. gregjohn says:

    Good for you. Have a wonderful trip.
    I wish I could do that.
    I was at Ft. Bragg, NC for a couple years in the Army. I enjoyed it.

    BTW, you’re tagged. Please go Here

  4. Jane says:

    I love your “not plan!” Sounds like so much fun I wanna come and not plan, too. But I suppose, having another personality in the mix kinda defeats the purpose of a “not plan,” huh? Ah well – Have a great time! (And hugs to you and your friend)

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Jane. And this morning, even though I’ve been kind of telling Hubby I didn’t have a “plan”… Mr. “Gotta Plan Everything Ahead”, goes “So, I read your blog this morning” and I’m like Yeah? And he goes “So you’re just gonna WANDER?” well, DUH!!! I don’t HAVE to plan by myself! LOL That IS the plan… teeheehee

  5. Ron says:

    Ok…the more I read about you, the more I see just how similar we are.

    (besides the fact that we’re both CRAZY)

    I think we would make great traveling buddies.

    I am soooo much the same way when it comes to planning a trip. I definitely plan the time, traveling means, etc., but once I get to my destination…I don’t want to plan a thing. I like flying by the seat of my pants. Whenever I take a day trip into NYC, I never a plan a thing. I just get there and walk.

    “Let my inner voice guide me and let myself be….. me!”

    BRAVA! Because you never know what wonderful places it will take you. Places, you never planned!

    So, you GO, girl!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Oh….Can I go with you to NYC next time you go??? I LOVE NY but don’t know a lot about it. Only been there twice. Once YEARS ago with the guy I was dating at the time. Saw lots cool stuff, but, not enough. Then I took my #2 several years ago to explore the modeling thing (BRUTAL world there) and we were running about the whole time we there from one agency to the next so I didn’t really get to sight see!

      I think EVERY woman needs a great gay boyfriend to do “fun” things with. Any takers??? :-)

      I think we must have been siblings from another mother! bwahahaha We could SO be best girlfriends! Too bad we don’t live closer! If I ever get close to Philly I’m looking you up cause we are so gonna hang out! Deal???

  6. It sounds like a great plan (or non-plan rather). Alex and I do the whole “impulse” thing when we go to the Rez. We brought a friend along one year, and it nearly drove him nuts. We go or don’t go completely on whim. We get lots looking for relatives of Alex’s in these really barren outposts of the Rez. If we never find them, we don’t care! It’s all about the trip, not the destination.

    • pegbur7 says:

      See I like that kind of thing but Hubby wants to PLAN…. arghhhh. Sometimes you just gotta go! I told him when our oldest got married I wanted 48 hours to myself to not answer to anyone. I never got it so I’m taking it now!

  7. I meant to say we get “lost” not “lots” but it actually works either way!

  8. Oh, that sounds like such a lovely plan, but the planner and organizer and strategizer in me would die a very violent death and the procrastinator in me that has spent years in silenced imprisonment would start to speak up and tell me to turn on the tv of wherever I am and just put my feet up. I don’t know if I can do that!
    You’re linked!

  9. What a magnificent idea! I’m envious – it sounds like such a relaxing, freeing sort of trip.

    I hope you enjoy yourself and that you find the sense of adventure and fun that you’re looking for out on the open road :D.

  10. Now that the kids are older and I’m almost at the end of the full time parenting role, I’m feeling lots of wanderlust. Going somewhere, anywhere, sounds wonderful!

  11. Wandering on your own agenda sounds like way to spend a week out of town. Have fun!

  12. TheLocalsLoveIt says:

    I procrastanate too. I think it makes me do better work. crazy, I know.

    Have a great trip.

  13. Ellie Belen says:

    I’m a major procrastinator too! It’s a fault that will never go away because in the past my best outcomes have happened when I almost miss a deadline. So I never will learn the lesson.

    I too have wanderlust especially since the boy went away to college. I keep saying the words, “road trip” to hubby at least once a week.

  14. I’ll call you the wanderer, yes you’re the wanderer, you wander round and round and round… (Sorry about the song reference).

    I love the fact that you can just go and not have to worry too much about an itinerary. It kind of reminds me of a “Toothbrush trip” in which you just pack a toothbrush and go somewhere– anywhere within a day’s travel.

    Great Spin,

    • pegbur7 says:

      That would be good cept I plan to be gone about a week. Now that all my kids are grown and I’m not exactly WORKING…. just fits in perfectly for my NONschedule! I’m so glad you stopped by. Please come again! :-)

Leave a Reply

